Lesson #3 – Knowing where to get a good meal

My dog and I share the same dream meal.

My dog and I share the same dream meal.

My dog can remember the place he found a chicken bone in a bush five years ago. Whenever we’re out walking in that area, as soon as we get within a 100 meter radius of that bush, he’ll try everything in a small dog’s power to get us closer to that spot so he can check it out again. He recognises the importance of a good meal and knowing where to find it.

Even though it’s annoying being dragged around to every stinky place in the neighbourhood that people ditch their scraps, I can appreciate my dog’s ability to flag and keep these locations on the google map in his brain.

Travelling overseas I was once lucky enough to channel my small dog’s skills and determination in this regard. Arriving in Freiburg, Germany, after a long train ride from Paris, I recalled an excellent felafel place I used to go to over ten years ago while I was there studying. Emerging from the train station, nothing looked familiar, so, just like my little dog, I followed my nose with travelling partner following faithfully behind. Lo and behold, without a false turn or backtrack, we arrived to find the felafel place still there, and the felafel rolls just as good as I remembered.

It’s just survival instinct I guess.

Please leave a comment

