Lesson #2 – Embracing the journey

It’s a popular sentiment, but one that my dog doesn’t buy into.

It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end. – Ernest Hemingway

image

Small dog riding shotgun

He generally hates the journey, especially if it’s in the car. I guess when there’s a 50/50 chance of the journey ending somewhere bad (there’s four places we take him – the vets, the boarding kennels, holidays with the people, cool new places for walks) you’ve got to hedge your bets.

I also don’t have much time for the journey. I like to get to the destination and do what has to be done so that I can start on the next new thing. This can make holidays kind of hectic, and the bureaucrats I work with (who need pre-briefings, pre-meetings and planning meetings before the actual meeting, then a follow-up meeting and a debrief) rather anxious.

What I’ve learnt is that the journey is going to happen regardless, because it’s a necessary part of getting to somewhere new, and there’s usually somebody else in charge (driving) who you’ve got to go along with. As my little dog knows, all that can be done is to let everyone know you’re not impressed (an annoying high-pitched whinge at the start will do) and then just settle down and ride it out. Chances are you’ll end up somewhere good.

Safe travels to everyone this Christmas, enjoy wherever it is you’re going, and the journey there.

Please leave a comment