Finding Fuji

Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji from Lake Ashi.

About a year ago I caught my first glimpse of Mount Fuji from the train. And so began my fascination. I’ve written previously about how it all started in my post, Mount Fuji-san, and the connection between this great icon and my blog in About.

For the past month I’ve been lucky enough to be in Tokyo with not much else to do than stalk Fuji. Harder than you’d think, with the temperamental spring weather cutting clear days to about one in five.

The elusiveness of this mountain only makes it more exciting to see. The first sudden glimpse from the train on the way to a viewing spot is the best moment, eliciting exclamation and the hope that it will be clear enough for a good photo. From then on, the sky is constantly monitored for any sign of gathering clouds.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For these few photos I hiked up Mount Takao and travelled on trains, buses, a pirate ship (don’t ask, I don’t know) and a cable car around Hakone. They’re better than my first attempts, but still not perfect. I guess I’ll just have to come back to Japan and try again.

Please leave a comment